Edinburgh Fringe Comedians’ Choice award winners revealed

Back to Blog

The winners of the Comedians’ Choice Awards at the Edinburg Fringe Festival were revealed as the festival drew to a close over the Bank Holiday weekend.

The Comedians’ Choice Awards are an important part of the Edinburgh Fringe Festival. They are the opportunity for artistes to highlight and reward the work of their fellow comedians. The 2019 winners included Joz Norris, who won an award for the ‘Best Show’, and Laura Lex who was awarded ‘Best Performer’ for the second time.

Non-performers were in with a chance of winning a prize, such as Brian Dobie who was recognised for his work as an operations manager at the various venues and walked away with the ‘Best Person’ award.

Speaking after receiving his statuette, Joz Norris said:

“I’m so happy and proud and humbled to have won this award.”

Meanwhile Laura Lex received her award with a surprise presentation at the end of her show.

The statuettes themselves were newly commissioned for 2019 and were created and designed by inventor, John Ward. The engraved awards comprise of a metal base, on which are three columns representing the core values of comedy, which are mirth, merriment and laughter. From the centre rises a brass stem, symbolising the ‘brass neck’ sometimes needed by performers, a wide, lopsided grin made of steel, and the trophy is topped off with the traditional red nose of the clown.

Every show at the Fringe can both vote and be voted for, but only by the comedians themselves not by a panel of judges or industry experts. Thus giving extra special meaning to the Comedians’ Choice Awards.

Share this post

Back to Blog