Golden Globes honour actor Tom Hanks

Back to Blog

Hollywood A-lister Tom Hanks is the latest recipient of the coveted Cecil B. DeMille Award, for his contribution to the film industry.

Hanks is being recognised for his work in front of and behind the camera, which covers a career of almost 40 years. A winner of Golden Globes for ‘Big’, ‘Forest Gump’, ‘Philadelphia’ and ‘Castaway’, Hanks has also been nominated five other times for his roles.

The honorary award will be presented as part of the 2020 Golden Globe Awards, to be held in the Beverley Hilton on January 5th, on behalf of the Hollywood Foreign Press Association. Previous recipients include Oprah Winfrey, George Clooney, Martin Scorsese, Walt Disney, Audrey Hepburn and Laurence Olivier. First awarded in 1952 to Cecil B. DeMille, a panel of industry experts choose each year’s recipients.

Lorenzo Soria, HFPA president said of Tom Hanks:

“For more than three decades, he’s captivated audiences with rich and playful characters that we’ve grown to love and admire.”

The statuette depicts a golden globe of the earth, which has a strip of film wrapped around it. Perched on the top is a figure with outstretched hands, holding a reel of film. The statuette stands on a black plinth, upon which is engraved the title of the award, the date and the recipient’s name.

Tom Hanks is no stranger to receiving engraved awards like this, and has a string of Lifetime Achievement awards under his belt. He is also only the second actor, after Spencer Tracy, to win consecutive Best Actor Oscars, one in 1993 and one in 1994.

Share this post

Back to Blog