Stokes crowned Sports Personality of the Year

Back to Blog

Cricketer Ben Stokes is the latest sportsman to win the accolade of BBC Sports Personality of the Year.

He was presented with the award at a glittering ceremony held in Aberdeen on 15th December, and is the 67th winner of the prestigious accolade.

The awards were the brain child of Paul Fox, editor of the popular television show, Sportsview, with the first ceremony held in 1954, with Peter Dimmock acting as presenter. Voting was by postcard and the nominees, printed in the Radio Times, were only of athletes who had been featured in the programme Sportsview. Roger Bannister was beaten by Christopher Chataway in the inaugural award ceremony.

Over the years, four people have walked away with the top title more than once, with Andy Murray winning the award a record three times. Boxer Henry Cooper and Formula One drivers Damon Hill and Nigel Mansell have all won twice.

Lewis Hamilton and Steve Davis hold the record for most top three places at five each, with only one win between them, whereas eight people have managed to finish in second place twice without taking the crown, these include Sally Gunnell and Bobby Charlton. The oldest recipient was Dai Rees in 1957, aged 44, and the youngest was 17-year-old Ian Black in 1958.

To be eligible for any of the engraved awards up for grabs, athletes must be British or have played a significant amount of their individual sport in the United Kingdom. Winners are chosen by the public, and are judged on who is deemed to have achieved the most during that year.

Share this post

Back to Blog