2019 Nobel Prize winners announced

Back to Blog

The Nobel Prize is one of the most prestigious awards in the world and recognises the work and outstanding contributions in the fields of literature, physics, chemistry, economic sciences and peace.

The Nobel Prize has been awarded since 1901 to individuals and organisations from around the world. Along with £730,000 and a diploma, recipients are also presented with engraved awards in the form of medals.

The 2019 winners for physics were James Peebles, Michel Mayor and Didier Queloz for their work in new planetary discoveries and uncovering some of the mysteries of the “big bang”. Previous winners had included Albert Einstein, and Marie and Pierre Curie.

The prize for chemistry was awarded to Stanley Whittingham, John Goodenough and Akira Yoshino, for their invention of the lithium-ion battery. Austrian, Peter Handke won the award for literature, and Abhijit Banerjee, Esther Dufflo and Michael Kremer were awarded the prize for economic sciences for their work in helping to alleviate global poverty.

The most famous award, the Nobel Peace Prize, went to the Ethiopian Prime Minister, Abiy Ahmed. He made an outstanding contribution to the successful peace process which ended 20 years of conflict between his country and neighbouring Eritrea. Previous winners of the Nobel Peace Prize includes Malala Yousafzai and Barack Obama.

The engraved awards are considered to be one of the highest accolades and a fitting tribute to Alfred Nobel’s wishes that his money be turned into “prizes to those who, during the preceding year, have conferred the greatest benefit to mankind.”

Here at H Cooper Glass Engravers, we can supply many engraved awards to hand out to worthy recipients.

Share this post

Back to Blog